ConvertKit is now branded Kit, but the pricing questions are the same: what does the free plan actually include, what does Creator cost at my list size, and is Creator Pro worth it? This guide answers those directly, using Kit's own published prices and billing documentation.
Pricing snapshot: Official-source snapshot checked 2026-11-05. All amounts are in USD, before applicable tax. Kit can change plans, tiers, and promos at any time, so confirm the live number at checkout.
Affiliate disclosure: SoloPicked is reader-supported. If you buy through links on this page, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. That does not change our research-based editorial approach. Read our affiliate disclosure.

Illustrated chart (warm amber / cream). Not vendor UI.
How Kit pricing works: two axes, not one
Kit charges on two dimensions that are easy to conflate:
- Plan tier — Free/Newsletter, Creator, or Creator Pro — which sets your feature ceiling.
- Subscriber tier — how many confirmed/active subscribers you have — which sets the price within that plan.
That is why "Kit costs $39" is only true at a specific plan and list size. It is also why your bill can rise without sending more email: growth moves you into a new subscriber tier. Kit's pricing page is the source for the numbers below, and its billing documentation explains how upgrades, proration, and refunds work.
Verified prices: 1,000 and 3,000 subscribers
These are the figures Kit published at the time of the snapshot. The $39 and $79 monthly prices are the actual monthly billing prices; the $33 and $66 you may see on Kit's site are rounded annual-equivalent displays, not the monthly charge.
| Plan | Subscribers | Monthly billing | Annual upfront | Annualized monthly equivalent |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Free / Newsletter | Up to 10,000 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| Creator | Up to 1,000 | $39/month | $390/year | $32.50/month |
| Creator Pro | Up to 1,000 | $79/month | $790/year | $65.83/month |
| Creator (official billing example) | Up to 3,000 | $59/month | Not stated in the reviewed source | Not stated |
The 3,000-subscriber row is a single verified example from Kit's billing documentation, not a range and not a quote for every account. Your checkout can differ by tax, currency, promotions, and the exact subscriber count on your account. If you are weighing Kit against another platform at a similar list size, our Kit vs Mailchimp comparison covers the feature trade-offs, and Systeme.io pricing covers a lower-cost all-in-one alternative.
Monthly vs annual: do the first-year math
Kit's annual plans provide 12 months for the price of 10. That is the whole discount, and it is paid upfront.
- Creator monthly: $39 × 12 = $468 in the first year.
- Creator annual: $390 upfront, which is $390 ÷ 12 = $32.50 per month effective. You save $78 versus paying monthly.
- Creator Pro monthly: $79 × 12 = $948 in the first year.
- Creator Pro annual: $790 upfront, which is $790 ÷ 12 = $65.83 per month effective (rounded). You save $158 versus paying monthly.
Kit displays those annual equivalents as "$33/month" and "$66/month" in marketing. Treat those as rounded effective rates on an annual prepayment, not as prices you can pay monthly. Monthly billing is $39 and $79 at the 1,000-subscriber tier. Annual is cheaper only if you are confident you will stay on the same plan for a year; otherwise the monthly premium buys flexibility.
Creator and Creator Pro both include a 14-day trial with no card required, so you can test the automation and reporting you actually need before committing.
The Free / Newsletter plan: generous ceiling, conflicting automation docs
The $0 plan is the headline: Free/Newsletter costs $0 for up to 10,000 subscribers. Benefits that both official free-plan articles agree on include:
- Up to 10,000 subscribers at $0
- Unlimited forms and landing pages
- Unlimited broadcasts and sends
- Tags and segmentation
- Digital products and subscriptions
- Creator Network Recommendations
Source discrepancy you should know about. Kit's Free-plan article (updated Sep 23, 2026) says visual automations and email sequences require a paid plan. Kit's separate Newsletter-plan article (also updated Sep 23, 2026) says the $0 Newsletter plan includes one basic visual automation (with action steps and triggers) and one email sequence. We are not going to claim every free account gets those. The practical move is to check the plan named in your signup or account settings, or ask Kit support, before you build a funnel that depends on them.
The free plan is a real starting point for a small list, a newsletter, a lead magnet, and a simple landing page. It becomes limiting when automated follow-up, deeper integrations, or team access become part of how you sell.
Creator: the plan most solo businesses actually need
Creator is the first paid tier, and at 1,000 subscribers it is $39/month or $390 upfront annually. Verified core features include:
- Unlimited forms and landing pages
- Broadcasts and email sequences
- Visual automations and rules
- Link triggers
- Tags and segments
- Digital products and subscriptions
- Custom templates and opt-in incentives
- Unsubscribe builder
- Remove "Built with Kit" branding
- Third-party integrations and API access
- Creator Network Recommendations
- Subject-line A/B testing with up to 5 variants
The main non-price limit is team size: Creator allows two users. For a solo creator or a two-person business, that is usually enough. For a coach selling a discovery call or a freelancer selling a retainer, Creator is generally the first tier where the lead-magnet-to-offer workflow stops feeling manual. Kit's Creator vs Creator Pro article is the official feature-by-feature reference.
Creator Pro: team, reporting, and growth operations
Creator Pro is $79/month or $790 upfront annually at the same 1,000-subscriber tier. It includes everything in Creator, plus:
- Unlimited team members and collaboration
- Advanced deliverability reporting
- Engagement analytics and scoring
- Facebook Custom Audiences sync
- SparkLoop referral system
- Edit links in sent broadcasts
- Insights dashboard
- Subscriber Signals
- 24/7 priority email and chat support
Pro is not "Creator but better" in some abstract sense. It is for teams, for creators who need reporting and engagement scoring to make decisions, and for growth operations such as referrals and audience syncs. A solo creator with a working offer can run a long time on Creator without hitting a revenue-limiting wall.
Feature and limit comparison
| Capability | Free / Newsletter | Creator | Creator Pro |
|---|---|---|---|
| Subscriber ceiling | Up to 10,000 | Scales by tier (1,000 = $39/mo) | Scales by tier (1,000 = $79/mo) |
| Users | Not confirmed in reviewed sources | 2 | Unlimited + collaboration |
| Forms & landing pages | Unlimited | Unlimited | Unlimited |
| Broadcasts | Included | Included | Included |
| Email sequences | Conflicting official docs — see note above | Included | Included |
| Visual automations & rules | Conflicting official docs — see note above | Included | Included |
| Link triggers | Not confirmed | Included | Included |
| Tags & segments | Included | Included | Included |
| Digital products & subscriptions | Included | Included | Included |
| Custom templates & opt-in incentives | Not confirmed | Included | Included |
| Unsubscribe builder | Not confirmed | Included | Included |
| Remove Kit branding | Not confirmed | Included | Included |
| Integrations & API | Common integrations; limits vary | Included | Included |
| Creator Network Recommendations | Included | Included | Included |
| Subject-line A/B testing | Not confirmed | Up to 5 variants | Up to 5 variants |
| Advanced deliverability reporting | — | — | Included |
| Engagement analytics & scoring | — | — | Included |
| Facebook Custom Audiences sync | — | — | Included |
| SparkLoop referrals | — | — | Included |
| Edit links in sent broadcasts | — | — | Included |
| Insights dashboard & Subscriber Signals | — | — | Included |
| Priority support | — | Not detailed in reviewed sources | 24/7 email & chat |
Who should pay for what
Stay on Free/Newsletter if:
- Your list is small and your sending is mostly a manual newsletter.
- You need a landing page, a form, and a simple welcome message.
- You are still testing the niche, offer, or content angle.
- You do not depend on multi-step automation to sell.
- Your email revenue is not yet predictable enough to justify a subscription.
Buy Creator if:
- You sell a service, coaching package, course, or freelance project that needs automated follow-up.
- You want visual automations, sequences, tagging, and integrations with booking, checkout, or CRM tools.
- You need to remove Kit branding and run subject-line tests.
- Two users are enough for your business.
- The monthly cost is smaller than the revenue one recovered client would bring.
Buy Creator Pro if:
- You have a team that needs seats and collaboration.
- You need deliverability reporting, engagement scoring, or Subscriber Signals to make list decisions.
- You run referral or audience-sync growth operations such as SparkLoop or Facebook Custom Audiences.
- You want 24/7 priority support and the ability to fix links in broadcasts already sent.
- You can point to revenue or operational savings that justify the higher tier.
A simple rule: upgrade when one missing feature blocks one specific business outcome. Do not upgrade because a comparison table makes the higher tier look more serious. If your primary need is email-plus-funnels at a lower entry price, compare carefully rather than assuming Kit is the cheapest path.
Growth, downgrades, refunds, and sending limits
- Upgrades are automatic and prorated. When your confirmed subscriber count crosses into a new tier, Kit moves you up automatically and prorates the change.
- Downgrades are manual. Eligible subscriber-tier downgrades must be selected in your account and take effect on the next billing date, provided you are still eligible then. If you are near a threshold, do not assume unsubscribes will lower the next charge by themselves.
- Refunds: you can request a full refund within 30 days of your first payment. Later payments are not refunded, so annual buyers should be confident before renewing.
- Sending limits: Kit's pricing FAQ states there are no sending limits. Your bill is based on confirmed/active subscribers, not email volume — so sending more to the same list does not raise the price, but growing the list does.
FAQ
Is there really a free plan with 10,000 subscribers? Yes. Free/Newsletter is $0 up to 10,000 subscribers. Automation and sequence entitlements are described differently in the two official articles — check your specific plan in the account, as explained above.
What does Creator cost at 1,000 subscribers? $39 per month, or $390 upfront for a year. The annual plan works out to $32.50 per month effective, even though Kit displays a rounded $33.
Is $33 or $66 the real monthly price? No. Those are rounded annual-equivalent displays. Actual monthly billing is $39 for Creator and $79 for Creator Pro at the 1,000-subscriber tier. Annual prepayment is what produces the lower effective rate.
What happens when I pass 1,000 subscribers? You move into the next subscriber tier automatically, with proration. Kit's published billing example shows Creator up to 3,000 subscribers at $59/month; that is one verified data point, not a universal quote.
Do I pay more if I send more emails? According to Kit's pricing FAQ, there are no sending limits. Pricing follows confirmed/active subscribers, not email volume.
Can I get a refund? You can request a full refund within 30 days of your first payment. Payments after that are not refunded.
Do I need Creator Pro as a solo creator? Usually not. Creator covers automations, sequences, tagging, integrations, and A/B testing for two users. Move to Pro when team seats, advanced reporting, or growth operations become real needs.
Is annual billing always cheaper? It is cheaper per month if you stay for the year: 12 months for the price of 10. But it is paid upfront and later payments are not refundable, so monthly is the safer choice while you are still testing fit.
Final take
Kit's pricing is best read as subscriber-based software with a feature ladder. Free/Newsletter is a genuine starter plan with a high ceiling and one documentation conflict to verify. Creator is the practical paid tier for most solo creators, coaches, and freelancers. Creator Pro is an operations upgrade for teams and reporting-heavy growth work, not a default next step.
Check the current numbers on Kit's pricing page before checkout, and confirm your plan entitlements in the account rather than relying on marketing copy.

